Holland & Barrett Ratings and Reviews
MSM
Q10
Shop now at Holland & Barrett
Mood Support or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for Holland & Barrett 5-HTP Tablets (50mg)

Holland & Barrett 5-HTP Tablets (50mg)

5-HTP is a compound that the body makes from the amino acid tryptophan. Once tryptophan is converted to 5-HTP, it is then changed into a neurotransmitter known as Serotonin. 5-HTP is not found in dietary sources, unlike tryptophan.
Overall rating:
3.065 / 5
3.1
 / 
5
(31 reviews) 31
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 31 reviews
5 Stars
5
4 Stars
8
3 Stars
7
2 Stars
6
1 Star
5
Customer reviews for 5-HTP Tablets (50mg)
Review 1 for 5-HTP Tablets (50mg)
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Mush

Posted03 March 2014
Mags76
From Cambridge
Gender:Female
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Satisfaction 
1 / 5
1 / 5
These have disintegrated within a month, leaving just a powder in the bottle. Really disappointed with the quality.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for 5-HTP Tablets (50mg)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good Quality

Posted21 February 2014
Babsy
From Portsmouth
Gender:Female
Using products for:Less than one month
Reason for using Holland & Barrett Products:Mood Support
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very satisfied with the quality of the tablets and the speed of delivery
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for 5-HTP Tablets (50mg)
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not good quality tablet

Posted17 February 2014
Jayne38
From Surrey
Gender:Female
Using products for:Less than one year
Reason for using Holland & Barrett Products:Mood Support
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Satisfaction 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I forgot I had 5HTP in my cupboard, the date on them was 2016, when I looked in the tub they were all broken up and crumbling.
I had to throw them away, I have not got the receipt so couldn't take them back!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for 5-HTP Tablets (50mg)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Posted14 February 2014
Protodor
From Uk
Gender:Female
Using products for:One to five years
Reason for using Holland & Barrett Products:Natural Remedies
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Satisfaction 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Very good product.
Shame they are not capsules any more.
Capsules are Easier to digest and they don t crumble and end up in powder...
Please HB bring back this product in capsules.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for 5-HTP Tablets (50mg)
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Pills with bad state of isolation

Posted07 February 2014
Hollaba160
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Satisfaction 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I usually bought this product along last 3 years but, last year, I have realized that isolation's pills start to split just after 4 or 5 days the bottle is opened.
The same problem I have with L-carnitine (even worse-pills are desintegrated in few days after open the bottle) and so, I have considerate buy these products in other shop.
Yours faithfully.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for 5-HTP Tablets (50mg)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Works well - bad format

Posted25 January 2014
WritingMaven
From Lostwithiel Cornwall
Gender:Female
Using products for:Less than one year
Reason for using Holland & Barrett Products:Weight Management
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Satisfaction 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I noticed an immediate difference from the first dose.
My only complaint is that I have to be very careful with the bottle as the pills flake and break apart as you start to get toward the bottom of the bottle. To me, that means I am not getting my full money's worth which is disappointing.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for 5-HTP Tablets (50mg)
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

These help me to get to sleep

Posted22 January 2014
ChilliTeaDrinker
From Berks
Gender:Female
Using products for:More than five years
Reason for using Holland & Barrett Products:Other
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Satisfaction 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Every time I buy these tablets I wonder why 60 tablets are put into a bottle that could probably take 400 with no problem. What a waste of materials. This is why the rating is only 3 stars. Having said that the product, tho expensive, does help me to sleep and is well worth trying.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for 5-HTP Tablets (50mg)
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Poor Quality

Posted21 January 2014
scotsw12
From London
Gender:Male
Using products for:More than five years
Reason for using Holland & Barrett Products:Other
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Satisfaction 
2 / 5
2 / 5
They do work and I do feel the benefit but the tablets disintegrate into mush….very poorly made and poor quality.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for 5-HTP Tablets (50mg)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

5-HTP

Posted13 December 2013
Cher192
From Buckinghamshire, England.
Gender:Female
Using products for:One to five years
Reason for using Holland & Barrett Products:Immune Support
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Have been taking the above for a while now and completely satisfied, however the bottle is far too big for the amount of tablets in it, bit of a waste, also by the time you get to the bottom of the bottle, a lot of the tablets have broken, so am not really getting full value for my money.
I would recommend the product though.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for 5-HTP Tablets (50mg)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Tried other brands, these are still the best!

Posted13 November 2013
tweetiepie55
From Ireland
Gender:Female
Using products for:One to five years
Reason for using Holland & Barrett Products:Mood Support
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Satisfaction 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I have taken 5htp for a few years now and always bought them from Holland and Barrett. Then I debated over the cost as I often missed the "sale" and so ordered them online elsewhere, big mistake, they were not as good. Whilst they were cheaper to buy, I think the H & B ones are better. The tablets I must admit are tiny, at least the ones that came with my order, cannot say they have disintegrated like other reviews, so no problem there. I hope H & B get it right about the capsules as there are a lot of people wanting a better produce I see. Im happy Ive back taking them again. They work for me. Wish I was smarter with buying them on the sale price tho!.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for 5-HTP Tablets (50mg)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Money wasting tablets!!

Posted08 November 2013
KF72
From Kent
Gender:Female
Using products for:More than five years
Reason for using Holland & Barrett Products:Other
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
There is an old saying - if it isn`t broken Don't fix it. Unfortunately H&B did and came up with a really useless product. These tablets arrived broken, some flaking off in layers, some simply disintegrating. I have read other people`s reviews and agree with them wholeheartedly - an expensive unusable product!! PLEASE GO BACK TO CAPSULES
+10points
12of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for 5-HTP Tablets (50mg)
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

The tables break!!

Posted04 November 2013
ii1970
Gender:Female
Using products for:One to five years
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Satisfaction 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I came to find my tables are kind of falling apart! not sure what the problem is with them, i am very surprised. last time i ordered this product was capsules and i thought i was ordering the same presentation (clearly i wasn't) why to the tables break? i hope this is not an issue and that they still perform the way they should
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for 5-HTP Tablets (50mg)
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Good Value poor quality.

Posted19 October 2013
AFMc
From York
Gender:Male
Using products for:More than five years
Reason for using Holland & Barrett Products:Sports Nutrition
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Satisfaction 
3 / 5
3 / 5
The product worked for what I bought them for but the tablets have disintegrated into a powdery mess in the container. Would have to use a set of scales to measure the dosage if I wanted to use whats left.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for 5-HTP Tablets (50mg)
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

dissapointed

Posted18 October 2013
chandler
From Eastleigh Hants
Gender:Female
Using products for:One to five years
Reason for using Holland & Barrett Products:Maintain Current Health
The tablets came broken in bottle and disentigrated further when removed from bottle! They were difficult to take as there was a fair amount of powder as they were removed.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for 5-HTP Tablets (50mg)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Works very well but tablets quality very poor

Posted17 October 2013
SilasRamsbottom
From South Wales, UK
Gender:Female
Using products for:Less than one year
Reason for using Holland & Barrett Products:Mood Support
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Satisfaction 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Been taking this for a few months now and seems to have had a positive effect. Very very dissappointed with the quality of the tablets themselves, they just dissintegrate after a while becoming crumbly and powdery. Not sure if if after they have been open a certain length of time but they definitely in date.
+8points
9of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for 5-HTP Tablets (50mg)
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Tablets crumble very easily

Posted14 October 2013
chilledbunny
From north Norfolk
Gender:Female
Using products for:One to five years
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Satisfaction 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Bought two bottles and found the tablets in both crumbled very easily, so there was quite a bit at wastage and not as good value as I had thought. Would not recommend and won't buy again.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for 5-HTP Tablets (50mg)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good quality!

Posted10 October 2013
Tonney
From West midlands
Gender:Female
Using products for:One to five years
Reason for using Holland & Barrett Products:Mood Support
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Satisfaction 
4 / 5
4 / 5
After using 5htp for a while I was disappointed too find that they have changed it from a capsule shell to a tablet form which unfortunately really crumble up & you tend to lose some of them as they disintegrate. Don't know why they changed them.
+13points
13of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for 5-HTP Tablets (50mg)
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

works but

Posted25 August 2013
Anonymous
From pembrokeshire
Gender:Female
Age:46-60
Using products for:More than five years
Reason for using Holland & Barrett Products:Other
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Satisfaction 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I have been taking these for a while but just started taking new ones and after 7 days they are disintegrating to powder and they are not cheep so I have contacted h/b and looking forward to there reply.
+2points
6of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for 5-HTP Tablets (50mg)
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Poor quality.

Posted14 August 2013
Mag67gm
From NB, Canada
Gender:Female
Age:46-60
Using products for:One to five years
Reason for using Holland & Barrett Products:Natural Remedies
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Satisfaction 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Holland and Barrett have some great deals!
I take 5-HTP everyday and it really makes a difference in how positive my day is.
H and B products are usually of great quality but these 50mg tablets crumble and fall apart.
I was disappointed in the quality of this product.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for 5-HTP Tablets (50mg)
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Excellent product, poorly delivered.

Posted12 July 2013
AJHerts
From Herts
Gender:Male
Age:31-45
Using products for:One to five years
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Satisfaction 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I don't normally write reviews but feel I have to add to the growing calls for this to be returned to capsule form.
The tablets are not fit for purpose H&B! They begin to crumble very quickly and mean that a lot of the product is unusable.
Please fix this ASAP, thank you.
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>