Holland & Barrett Ratings and Reviews
MSM
Q10
Shop now at Holland & Barrett
Summer Essentials or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for Dr Organic Snail Gel

Dr Organic Snail Gel

Dr. Organic Snail Gel is a moisturising, soothing, anti-aging gel which harnesses the remarkable cosmetic benefits of Helix Aspersia Muller, a unique substance the snail produces to quickly regenerate its own shell and skin when damaged. Combined with organic Aloe Vera and our proprietary blend of bioactive ingredients it effectively soothes and hydrates the skin. Laboratory analysis of this incredible natural extract has shown that Helix Aspersia Muller contains a unique balance of beneficial components including Glycolic Acid, Collagen, Elastin, Allantoin, Vitamins and Minerals. The unique healing and powers of the snail's slime, which is harvested without causing any harm, was discovered by chance by snail farmers in Chile who noticed their hands were incredibly soft and hydrated and minor cuts and scars were healing unusually quickly. Further research and clinical testing found that the secretions contained high levels of naturally occurring allantoine, collagen, elastin and anti-bacterial substances that all have beneficial healing, smoothing and purifying effects on human skin. Dr Organic Snail Gel, available exclusively to Holland & Barrett, boasts a whole range of anti-ageing benefits including, softened wrinkles, smooth skin and scar reduction. It is free from all petro-chemicals and harsh additives which strip the skin of valuable moisture and can cause long-term damage, including parabens and sodium lauryl sulphate (SLS). This is skincare that's pure, luxurious and effective. Dr Organic Snail Gel is produced from snails that are farmed under humane and certified organic conditions. The snails are able to roam freely and the mucus secretion is collected from glass panes that they travel over. The secretion is collected, filtered and then concentrated by vacuum evaporation to reduce its water content before a mild preservative is added to maintain its shelf life.
Overall rating:
4.682 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(63 reviews) 63
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 63 reviews
5 Stars
48
4 Stars
12
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
Customer reviews for Snail Gel
Review 1 for Snail Gel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent quality product

Posted22 April 2014
Michelle01
From Darlington, UK
Gender:Female
Using products for:Less than one year
Reason for using Holland & Barrett Products:Beauty
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A lovely, soothing gel that has a slight tightening effect on the skin. It sinks in quickly and there's no sticky residue. Also, it has a refreshing, citrus smell. I will be buying more when this pot runs out
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Snail Gel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Worth a try

Posted21 April 2014
Loulou222
From England
Gender:Female
Using products for:Less than one year
Reason for using Holland & Barrett Products:Sports Nutrition
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Found this product really good at smoothing out lines lovely smell and easy to apply.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Snail Gel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great stuff!

Posted18 April 2014
Mikeslady
From Worcester
Gender:Female
Using products for:More than five years
Reason for using Holland & Barrett Products:Natural Remedies
Bought this out of curiosity more than anything else. I agree with other reviewers - forget the name and just enjoy the lovely smell.
I didn't see an immediate effect but, after a couple of weeks using it twice a day, there is a noticeable improvement in the fine lines around my eyes. My whole face feels somehow tighter.
Very pleased with this product and will definitely buy again.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Snail Gel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Posted13 April 2014
SaraK
From Surrey
Gender:Female
Using products for:More than five years
Reason for using Holland & Barrett Products:Maintain Current Health
This is the most lovely product I have ever put on my skin. It feels beautiful and it smells delicious.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Snail Gel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Refreshing

Posted11 April 2014
Angie1
From East mids
Gender:Female
Using products for:Less than one year
Reason for using Holland & Barrett Products:Acne
Lovely smelling, refreshing, and absorbs very quickly! I have now bought 3!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Snail Gel
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Cruelty Free?

Posted11 April 2014
Lunalobo11
From Glasgow
Gender:Female
Using products for:More than five years
Reason for using Holland & Barrett Products:Other
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Satisfaction 
1 / 5
1 / 5
On the strength of reviews, hot tailed it to the store, bought this gel and used it for about a week. But something was niggling me. As with all Dr Organics products, I'd assumed this gel isn't tested on animals, and I'd checked the box, seen the bunny logo and the stated fact "the snail itself is not harmed" in the making of this product. But I was still uneasy. I couldn't see how they could possibly collect gel from a snail easily? I went on line to research and was glad I did. As I suspected, whilst this product may not be `tested on animals', I fail to see how it can be cruelty free? The snail only produces this gel when "stressed" or "you have to scare it" before it produces it. How on earth do they do that with no harm to the snails? I checked the jar and there's no bunny logo displayed there, despite ALL my other jars and bottles of Dr Organics displaying it clearly. But not this product. I threw it in the bin because I can't be sure if it's humanely produced claims are true. BTW, I wasn't impressed with it anyway and shall stick to the Pomegranate range. It's far superior and definitely cruelty free...won't even harm a snail.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Snail Gel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Absolutely lovely gel

Posted10 April 2014
Molly52
From Southend
Gender:Female
Using products for:My entire life
Reason for using Holland & Barrett Products:Skin Care
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wasn't sure at first as snail gel sounds weird. I bought it when it was on special, one for me and one for my mum for mothers day. It is wonderful cream and I've had to buy another two as mum found her skin was lovely and smooth with just a few applications. I use it on my face as night cream and also in the morning, leaves your skin feeling lovely and definitely tightens.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Snail Gel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Miracle!

Posted10 April 2014
tinker
From Nottinghamshire
Gender:Female
Using products for:Less than one year
Reason for using Holland & Barrett Products:Natural Remedies
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This moisturising gel is a gem. All the information given about it is absolutely correct. Only wish I had known about it years ago.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Snail Gel
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Posted09 April 2014
Summer
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Satisfaction 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Superior absorption with light fragrance . good product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Snail Gel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent product

Posted02 April 2014
Juejogs
From Bristol
Gender:Female
Using products for:One to five years
Reason for using Holland & Barrett Products:Beauty
My daughter and I both bought a snail gel to try, after reading good reviews about it. It certainly lived up to the reviews. My skin is soft and smooth, and looks healthier. My daughter loves it too. Will be buying it again!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Snail Gel
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Love the smell

Posted02 April 2014
Ness
From Cheshire
Gender:Female
Using products for:One to five years
Reason for using Holland & Barrett Products:Skin Care
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Satisfaction 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I have no idea if this actually works as have only been using for a few weeks but I'm sure it can't do any harm and it smells divine. Goes on nicely under moisturiser. Buy it when on offer if you can
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Snail Gel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

excellent product

Posted28 March 2014
fredcall
From Berkshire
Gender:Female
Using products for:One to five years
Reason for using Holland & Barrett Products:Beauty
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I've tried other snail extracts. But nothing beats this one. It goes on smoothly and does not leave my skin greasy. Thx Holland and Barrett.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Snail Gel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Lemony fresh and light

Posted24 March 2014
Ktebailey
From Nottingham,
Gender:Female
Using products for:My entire life
Reason for using Holland & Barrett Products:Skin Care
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is my second purchase of this product. I really like it it soaks in well and is fresh smelling. I know it's snail slime but as long as the animal isn't hurt (which they state it isn't) then I am ok with it. Seems to work well and I am really pleased with it.
Fast delivery as well great!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Snail Gel
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Unusual smell!!

Posted24 March 2014
Red88
From Northern Ireland
Gender:Female
Using products for:More than five years
Reason for using Holland & Barrett Products:Beauty
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Satisfaction 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Maybe I haven't used this gel for a long enough time (approx 3 weeks) but I haven't noticed any difference to my skin as yet.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Snail Gel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very nice

Posted21 March 2014
Woodysmallwood
From Uk
Gender:Female
Using products for:One to five years
Reason for using Holland & Barrett Products:Weight Management
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is a lovely gel to use Smells good and tightens skin on contact I use under makeup or fake tan I'm defo buying again especially on buy one get one half price!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Snail Gel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Leaves skin feeling lovely. Smells great too

Posted21 March 2014
Rainbowpoppy
From Northampton
Gender:Female
Using products for:More than five years
Reason for using Holland & Barrett Products:Women's Vitamins
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A lovely gentle product that glides on the skin leaving it plump and healthy looking
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Snail Gel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Brill product

Posted19 March 2014
Mazy
From Glasgow
Gender:Female
Using products for:Less than one year
Reason for using Holland & Barrett Products:Facial Care
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Was a great product ! This is the first time I tried this product and I would buy it again.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Snail Gel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My favourite ever face product.

Posted13 March 2014
Bel9
From UK
Gender:Female
Using products for:One to five years
Reason for using Holland & Barrett Products:Maintain Current Health
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is lovely stuff, very gentle, even around the eye. It smells gorgeous, and my skin is definitely improved. Good value when it's BOGOHP. I will always use this now.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Snail Gel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product

Posted13 March 2014
Bluewhiz
Makes a real difference to your skin within days . Much better than all these really expensive creams
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Snail Gel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

love it

Posted05 March 2014
elev
From London, Uk
Gender:Female
Using products for:Less than one year
Reason for using Holland & Barrett Products:Beauty
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I've been using this gel for a month now and not only it smells lovely and feels amazing but it actually works and
my skin is at its best!
also very good make up base
will surely buy it again
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 next>>